Categorized | English, Featured, Inzibutso

Rwamagana: District to renovate over six memorial sites

Posted on 06 May 2014 by peter

Rwamagana District to renovate over six memorial sites

Rwamagana district will roof six Genocide memorial sites following the request by IBUKA administration in Rwamagana district.

The move aims at protecting the mass graves from water that might enter to destroy the remains of 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi.

There are 12 genocide memorial sites in Rwamagana district.

The roofed memorial sites include Kigabiro, Rutonde, Mwurire, Musha, Muyumbu and Sovu.

The remaining ones include Muhazi, Nkungu, Kaduha and other three in Gishari sector.

“I commend the districts effort in roofing the memorial sites. However, much effort is needed to roof even the remaining sites,” said Jean Baptiste Munyaneza, IBUKA representative in Rwamagana district.

“We are trying all possible means to roof the remaining memorial sites in 2 years time,” said Nehemie Uwimana; mayor of Rwamagana district

IBUKA is a non-profit genocide survivors’ organization, founded in August 1994 in Kigali, Rwanda. Ibuka’s members strive to memorialize the victims of the Genocide against the Tutsis, provide aid to and protect genocide survivors, assist in the ongoing prosecution of perpetrators, and contest genocide denial and revisionism.

Rwanda is commemorating 20th 1994 Tutsi genocide

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here